How many prime ministers has Singapore had?

List of prime ministers of Singapore

Prime Minister Term of office
1 Lee Kuan Yew 李光耀 5 June 1959 — 28 November 1990 11499 days
2 Goh Chok Tong 吴作栋(吳作棟) 28 November 1990 — 12 August 2004 5006 days
3 Lee Hsien Loong 李显龙(李顯龍) 12 August 2004 — Incumbent 6231 days

Who has been appointed as prime minister of Singapore?

Prime Minister of Singapore

Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore
Incumbent Lee Hsien Loong since 12 August 2004
Government of Singapore Cabinet of Singapore Prime Minister’s Office
Style Prime Minister (informal) His Excellency (diplomatic)
Residence Sri Temasek

Who is the former Prime Minister of Singapore?

Lee Kuan Yew (born Harry Lee Kuan Yew; 16 September 1923 – 23 March 2015), often referred to by his initials LKY and sometimes known in his earlier years as Harry Lee, was a Singaporean statesman and lawyer who served as Prime Minister of Singapore from 1959 to 1990, and is recognised as the nation’s founding father.

Who took over Heng Swee?

Heng Swee Keat

The Honourable Heng Swee Keat PPA PJG
Minister for Finance
In office 1 October 2015 – 14 May 2021
Preceded by Tharman Shanmugaratnam
Succeeded by Lawrence Wong

Who is the prime minister’s name?

Shri Narendra Modi was sworn-in as India’s Prime Minister on 30th May 2019, marking the start of his second term in office. The first ever Prime Minister to be born after Independence, Shri Modi has previously served as the Prime Minister of India from 2014 to 2019.

Who runs Singapore?

President of Singapore

President of the Republic of Singapore
Presidential Flag
Incumbent Halimah Yacob since 14 September 2017
Head of State
Style Madam President (informal) Her Excellency (diplomatic)

Who is the most famous person in Singapore?

Famous people from Singapore

  • Tila Tequila. Dance-pop Artist.
  • Lee Kuan Yew. Politician.
  • Vanessa-Mae. Classical Artist.
  • Louis Theroux. Presenter.
  • Jackson Rathbone. Actor.
  • Lee Hsien Loong. Politician.
  • JJ Lin. Mandopop Artist.
  • Fann Wong. Actor.

Who is Ong Ye Kung wife?

Diana Kuik Sin Leng
Ong Ye Kung/Wife
A Hokkien Singaporean, Ong is married to Diana Kuik Sin Leng, daughter of real estate magnate Kuik Ah Han. The couple has two daughters.

Who is your current Prime Minister in Singapore?

In practice, the prime minister is usually the leader of the majority party in the legislature. Lee Hsien Loong is the incumbent Prime Minister of Singapore since 2004. Under the Constitution of Singapore, executive power is vested in the president.

Who is the first Prime Minster of Singapore?

Lee Kuan Yew , politician and lawyer who was the first prime minister of Singapore, serving from 1959 to 1990. During his long rule, Singapore became the most-prosperous country in Southeast Asia. Learn more about Lee’s life and political career in this article.

Who was the first Prime Minister of Singapore?

The late Lee Kuan Yew was the first prime minister of Singapore from 1959 to 1990. Dec 7 2019

Who is the Minister of Singapore?

The Government of Singapore’s executive branch is headed by the Prime Minister of Singapore. He is the person who is responsible and head of the cabinet of the Singapore Government. The current PM of Singapore is Lee Hsien Loong.