What is a C6 spinal cord injury?

A C6 spinal cord injury is one that affects the lower end of the cord near the base of the neck. Injuries to this area of the spinal cord can result in loss of sensation or function of everything in the body from the top of the ribcage on down, including all four extremities, or what is known as quadriplegia.

What is SCI C6 C7?

C6, C7, & C8 Spinal Injuries. The C6 and C7 cervical vertebrae (and the C8 spinal nerve) form the lowest levels of the cervical spine and directly impact the arm and hand muscles. The locations of C6 and C7 vertebrae are both in the lowest levels of the cervical spine, near the base of the neck.

How many spinal cord levels are there?

There are four sections of the spinal cord: cervical, thoracic, lumbar and sacral. Each section of the spine protects different groups of nerves that control the body. The types and severity of spinal cord injuries can depend on the section of the spine that is injured.

How do you sleep with a herniated C6-C7?

If you can commit to a more drastic change, the best sleeping position for your herniated disc pain may be your back. Sleeping on your back helps keep the spine in neutral alignment. If your pain is still relatively intense, try placing a pillow under your knees and low back for added comfort.

Is spinal cord damage permanent?

Complete spinal cord injuries are usually permanent. Incomplete spinal cord injuries may allow for some functional improvement over time.

What can you do with a C6 spinal cord injury?

Tenodesis is an adaptive technique that C6 spinal cord injury patients can learn to grasp and release objects. It does not require any active movement of the hands, but rather a calculated flexion of the wrist. C6 spinal cord injury patients can use tenodesis to pick up objects and perform activities of daily living like brushing their teeth.

What are the different parts of the spinal cord?

The spinal cord is divided into five different parts. Sacral cord. Lumbar cord. Thoracic cord. Cervical cord. Coccygeal. Several spinal nerves emerge out of each segment of the spinal cord. There are 8 pairs of cervical, 5 lumbar, 12 thoracics, 5 sacral and 1 coccygeal pair of spinal nerves.

How many nerve roots are there in the spinal cord?

Emerging from the spinal cord are 31 pairs of anterior and posterior nerve roots.  The cervical, thoracic, lumbar, and sacral portions of the spinal cord are defined according to the segmental division of the vertebral column and spinal nerves.  There are eight cervical*, twelve thoracic, five lumbar, five sacral and one coccygeal.

What are the symptoms of a C6 sci injury?

Similarly, C6 spinal cord injury will affect sensation at the thumbs, index fingers, and part of the forearms. These are the sites that doctors will test to determine the level of spinal cord injury. C6 SCI patients generally have normal sensation and movement at the head, neck, and shoulders.