How do I become a licensed contractor in Virginia?
How Do I Get My Virginia Contractor License?
- #1: Get your Virginia contractor business set up.
- #2: Decide on your Virginia contractor license type.
- #3: Complete your Virginia contractor pre-license education course.
- #4: Pass the Virginia contractor exam.
- #5: Submit your completed application to the DPOR.
How do I get a class C contractors license in Virginia?
What is the Virginia Class C Contractor License Process?
- Create a business entity.
- Decide which license you need (A,B, or C as listed previously).
- Take a mandatory 8-Hour pre-license course (required for all license types)
- Pass the required exams.
- Complete your application and submit to the Board with the appropriate fee.
Do subcontractors need a license in Virginia?
PSA: Performing Construction Work in Virginia Requires a Contractor’s License. However, the risk is great for the unlicensed subcontractor or contractor even where they hold a license from another state. These risks run from non-payment due to a lack of license to the inability to record a mechanic’s lien.
What is a class C contractors license in Virginia?
A Class C Contractor is any contractor that has single contracts from $1,000 or more but less than $10,000 or contracts totaling less than $150,000 over a one-year period. Virginia does not require Continuing Education for the Class C Contractor classification.
Is the Virginia Contractors Exam open book?
Click here to download the VA Board for Contractors Rules and Regulations. This is an open book test.
How much can a contractor ask for up front in Virginia?
A good rule of thumb is an initial deposit of no more than 10% down or $1,000, whichever is less. Unless the job requires custom-made items or special orders, in which case an initial down payment should be no more than 30% of the total value of the contract.
How do I get a Class A Contractors License in Virginia?
Class A Contractor Requirements:
- Complete 8 Hour Pre-Licensing Course.
- Pass General, Advanced, and Law exams.
- Pass any specialty exams required for your trade.
- Submit an Application to the State.
- Show 5 years experience and a net worth of at least $45,000.