What are the 8 phases of moon?

  • New moon. The first phase for us to consider is the ‘new moon’.
  • The waxing crescent. The second phase of the Moon is called the ‘waxing crescent’.
  • The first quarter.
  • The waxing gibbous.
  • The full moon.
  • The waning gibbous.
  • The last quarter.
  • The waning crescent.

What are the 4 moon phases in order?

The Moon has four major phases in a month, or more precisely, 29.5 days: New Moon, first quarter, full Moon, and last quarter. Those phases are further broken down into waxing crescent, waxing gibbous, waning crescent and waning gibbous, based on how much of the lighted surface is visible…

What are the different phases of moon?

πŸŒ‘ New: We cannot see the Moon when it is a new moon. πŸŒ’ Waxing Crescent: In the Northern Hemisphere, we see the waxing crescent phase as a thin crescent of light on the right. πŸŒ“ First Quarter: We see the first quarter phase as a half moon. πŸŒ” Waxing Gibbous: The waxing gibbous phase is between a half moon and full moon.

What is the moon schedule for 2020?

Dates of Moon Phases in 2020 Year

2020 Lunar Phases β€” Mountain View (America/Los Angeles) Time
New Moon First Quarter Lunation
Jan. 24, Fri 13:44 Feb. 1, Sat 17:43 1201
Feb. 23, Sun 07:33 Mar. 2, Mon 11:58 1202
Mar. 24, Tue 02:29 Apr. 1, Wed 03:21 1203

What does the Moon look like on the 1st of the month?

At the beginning of this stage, we see a thin, crescent-shape Moon, which, in the Northern Hemisphere, appears on the right side. The lit area slowly widens each day, covering more and more of the right side of the Moon’s surface until the first quarter phase, when the Moon’s entire right side is illuminated.

What is the correct order of phases of the Moon?

The 8 moon phases in order are New moon, Waxing Crescent, First Quarter, Waxing Gibbous, Full moon, Waning Gibbous, Last Quarter, and finally Waning Crescent. The moon has phases the wanes, waxes, and even sometimes we can’t even see the moon during its phase.

What are the phases of the Moon in the order they occur?

The 8 Moon Phases New Moon. This is the beginning portion of the moon’s phases. Waxing Crescent. During the Waxing Crescent phase, the moon travels east in the sky. First Quarter. The next phase of the lunar cycle is the first quarter. Waxing Gibbous Moon. Full Moon. Waning Gibbous Moon. Third Quarter Moon. Waning Crescent Moon.

What are the 5 phases of the Moon?

The moon orbits the Earth every 29.5 days. As it orbits the Earth, it appears to be getting bigger (waxing) or smaller (waning). There are five phases of the moon: new, crescent, quarter, gibbous and full.

What are the four phases of the moon cycle?

Moon phases, menstrual phases: they both come in fours Menstrual (new moon): Take initiative, prepare for action Follicular (waxing moon): Begin taking action, initiate creative projects Ovulation (full moon): Put it out there! Speak up, pitch, collaborate and shine Luteal (waning moon):