Does Illinois have early learning standards?

The Illinois early learning and development standards (IELDS) provide reasonable expectations for children’s growth, development, and learning in the preschool years. The age-appropriate benchmarks in the IELDS enable educators to reflect upon and evaluate the experiences they provide for all preschool children.

What are the requirements to be a preschool teacher in Illinois?

Illinois Preschool Teacher Career Information

Education Required Bachelor’s degree with a state-approved teacher preparation program
Experience Required Student teaching or equivalent
Exam Requirements Basic skills test; ILTS early childhood content exam; edTPA
License Renewal Period Five years

What are priority learning standards?

Priority Standards are “a carefully selected subset of the total list of the grade-specific and course-specific standards within each content area that students must know and be able to do by the end of each school year in order to be prepared for the standards at the next grade level or course.

Why are standards important in early childhood?

Effective early learning standards give emphasis to all domains of development and learning. The content and desired outcomes of early learning standards are meaningful and important to children’s current well-being and later learning.

What age is Pre-K in Illinois?

At ages three- and four, children may be eligible to enroll in pre-Kindergarten, or “pre-K,” programs, both private and public. Pre-K programs are not compulsory, and families may elect to continue any arrangement of their choice.

What is the difference between academic standards and English language proficiency standards?

English language proficiency standards must be derived from the four language domains of speaking, listening, reading, and writing. Reading/language arts standards, on the other hand, describe what all students should know and be able to do in the specific academic content area of reading/language arts.

How many priority standards are there?

From the complete list of grade- or course-level Priority Standards, select three to five standards maximum to be the learning focus of the unit. These specific Priority Standards should come from a combination of strands or domains within the content area, and not be limited to one strand or domain only.

Why is it important to prioritize standards?

Prioritization affords teachers a bank of standards from which to choose as they scaffold instruction. When teachers prioritize standards, they greatly improve their own professional knowledge. The process requires them to obtain a deep understanding of the skills and concepts embedded within each standard.

What are the learning standards in Illinois?

The Illinois Learning Standards establish expectations for what all students should know and be able to do in each subject at each grade. The standards emphasize depth over breadth, building upon key concepts as students advance.

What are the Common Core Standards in Illinois?

Illinois has now adopted the Common Core State Standards. The Illinois Standards include the English Standards and Math Standards from the Common Core Standards. The Common Core Standards in Illinois are exactly the same as the other states who have adopted these standards.

What are the early learning guidelines?

Standards and Assessment. Early learning and development standards, sometimes called early learning guidelines, are the heart of an early childhood development system. Based on scientific research, they provide guideposts of what children should know and be able to do at various age ranges.