What type of accreditation is HLC?

About the Higher Learning Commission. The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the United States.

Is HLC accreditation legit?

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Recognized by the ED and CHEA, HLC accredits schools in the central United States, including roughly 1,000 degree-granting institutions. Once accredited, institutions must participate in a review every 10 years to maintain their status.

How does the accreditation process work?

Accredited online colleges gain accreditation through a process laid out by the particular agency. The accrediting agency then formally reviews the school’s curriculum, assesses whether it meets their set standards, and, if those standards are met, awards the institution accreditation.

How many people will be on the Higher Learning Commission accreditation team?

HLC relies on a cadre of carefully selected and trained professionals who serve HLC in its accreditation processes. This group of approximately 1,600 individuals is called the Peer Corps.

Why is HLC accreditation important?

Evaluation Process HLC accreditation assures quality by verifying that an institution (1) meets threshold requirements and (2) is engaged in continuous improvement.

Can you get a job with an unaccredited degree?

Yes, you can get a job with a non-accredited certificate. However, it is important to note that you will not be able to apply for executive positions. A non-accredited course focuses on equipping the student with a specific skillset. It is excellent for self-enrichment, career development and self-employment.

What accreditation is accepted?

The most recognized and accepted type of accreditation in the United States is regional accreditation. Generally, college credits or degrees received at a regionally accredited institution are accepted by other regionally accredited colleges or universities (non-regionally accredited programs are not as accepted).

What are the criteria for accreditation by the HLC?

Criterion 5. Institutional Effectiveness, Resources and Planning The Criteria for Accreditation are the standards of quality by which HLC determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation. They are as follows:

Where can I get accreditation from Joint Commission?

Joint Commission accreditation can be earned by many types of health care organizations, including hospitals, doctor’s offices, nursing homes, office-based surgery centers, behavioral health treatment facilities, and providers of home care services.

Can a new member of the Joint Commission?

Whether you’re new to the Joint Commission and just starting on your journey, or you are looking for guidance after your survey or review, you’ll have plenty of ongoing support.

What are the goals of the Joint Commission?

The Joint Commission strives to ensure that standards compliance scoring and the accreditation decisions are: Reflective of an organization’s performance with respect to Joint Commission standards and elements of performance (EPs). Transparent — all components of the process are fully disclosed to accredited and certified organizations.